1 month until TOKYO!

お久しぶり! “Long time no see” !

I have been, as you know, anticipating my trip to Tokyo for quite some time, though I hadn’t really the chance to get too excited about it because of school! With only one exam to go however, and exactly 32 days left to lift-off, I’m finally back to blogging.

I’ve slowly started thinking about a list of things to take, and what luggages to choose. AirCanada apparently allows 2 luggages (maximum 50 kg each), in addition to the carry-on (smaller luggage like a rucksack, suitcase etc.) that passengers can take on the plane with them!

For any of you travelling soon, I found this very general and standard “packing list” which I’ll probably look over for my “just-in-case-I-forgot-something” moments.

Image

For my trip this time tough, I’ve decided to pack the minimum, as I plan on going all out on shopping when I’m there and want to fit as much in my poor luggages as they’ll carry on the way back!

TRAVEL SICKNESS: On that note, as I am prone to “travel sickness” sometimes (usually experience heart-burn, upset stomach, nausea and headaches), I recommend anyone who experiences similar symptoms, and is O.K. with taking over-the-counter drugs for it, to take some sort of  “Bismuth subsalicylate/ calcium carbonate” medicine such as Pepto-Bismol or Tums, used to help relieve heartburn, indigestion, upset stomach, nausea, and diarrhea. According to some info I found, these medicines work by coating the stomach to prevent stomach acid, and reduce inflammation  by killing certain bacteria. Now. IF you’ve never used such relief medicines before or have had side-effects, I don’t recommend trying them for the first time while away from home (same for any medication, even over-the-counters, which you should read up on and take with guidance from a pharmacist or your physician- esp. if you have any health problems). I MYSELF only use them in small doses as a LAST resort as I’d rather not take medications unless I’ve got to (but that’s just me).

ANYWAY!!! (How did this become a medical entry….)

Most hotels, like the one my friend and I will be staying at, already provide towels, soaps, shampoos, extra blankets etc. In addition,  According to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku‘s website, all rooms provide guests with:

  • Refrigerator
  • Hair dryer
  • Hot water pot
  • Pant press
  • Simmons beds
  • Lofty pillows
  • LCD Televisions
  • CNN News channel/Chinese Channel/Korean Channel
  • High-speed 100 mbps Internet connection
  • In-room climate and temperature control
  • High security, non-contact keys
  • Secure elevator

… Which I just read up on right now! And that my dear readers, is why I find blogging about my travels so great. I remember and learn things as I share them with you! And of course I won’t forget my CAMERA. How would I share the experience otherwise??

For anyone who’s got travel or packing tips, do share and let me know!

Lia

2 thoughts on “1 month until TOKYO!

  1. Make sure to bring or buy a hand towel because there aren’t paper towels and usually no hand dryer. Learned that the hard way~ So exciting going to Tokyo. I look forward to your pictures!!

Comments are closed.