Our Hotel in Tokyo ! ! 東京のホテル

Don’t even get me started on how many hotels in Tokyo my friend and I checked out before making a decision!

We just knew we wanted someplace around Harajuku and Shinjuku, as most of our shopping and trip will consist of shopping sprees in our favourite boutiques (more on this later) !

Two final hotels we were debating on were Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku and Shinjuku Washington Hotel. Yes, we decided to splurge a bit on hotels as we figured since we are staying there for nearly a month, we want to feel safe, be at utmost comfort and, well, pamper ourselves he he heImage

Again, my friend from Japan had told me about the two hotels and how great their reputation was, so in the end we chose *drum roll* Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, and
here is why!

Firstly, it is closer to Shinjuku Station, and Shinjuku Station is connected to most of the train and subway lines, providing faster, easier, and probably cheaper transportation.

Secondly, from Shinjuku Station to Shibuya and Harajuku by the JR train system (about $2 for one-way ticket to Shibuya) takes 10 – 15 minutes!
As for getting to Roppongi, Aoyama or Omotesanto (your high fashion distilleries), the subway gives easy access from our hotel area, as well.

Additionally, for those of you looking for a more hike-n-nature-adventure sort of voyage, getting to Mt. Takao, the nearest mountain from central Tokyo, is a 30 to 40 minute trip. A friend also told me about her tour bus experience to Mt. Fuji from the Shinjuku area, which was an approximate 3 hours (she said they left in the morning and came back in the evening).

If I have the time, I’d like to divide my experience equally between hiking, “nature bonding” and visiting historical sites, as well as the city and shopping experience.

I’ll of course let you know how my hotel experience goes once I’m actually there! Oddly enough, I haven’t started counting down days yet…”YET”! !

Lia

